Leaving the University
Before leaving the university, you have several options when dealing with the content you generated while here at SDSU:
- Transfer to another SDSU user -- If you own content that you created in collaboration with others at SDSU, and
they are still dependent on it (and they are still eligible to use ArcGIS), then you
should transfer the ownership of that content to them. For instance, if you created
a StoryMap or Web Map for a faculty member to use in their research or teaching, then
you should have ownership of those items transferred to them.
- Transfer to an ArcGIS for Personal Use subscription -- This is a fully functional environment, just like you have been using at SDSU,
but just for you. You can transfer your content here, and continue to work on it and
share it with others, such as potential employers to highlight your skills. It is
also a great environment with which to continue developing and expanding your GIS
skills, and includes free access to most of Esri’s training materials. It is for professional
development purposes and cannot be used in for-profit activities. The cost is $100
- Transfer to another ArcGIS Online organization -- If you will be heading off to a job or enrolling elsewhere, and your new organization
has their own ArcGIS Online subscription, you could transfer your content to their
organization, if they permit this.
- Do Nothing -- You can, of course, delete any content you no longer need. Content will not be stored indefinitely after you leave the University, and eventually will be deleted.
If you need help determining what to do with your content, assistance with the various transfer options, or have other questions about ArcGIS, please feel free to submit a ServiceNow request. Requests default to ArcGIS Online. For support regarding ArcGIS Desktop, Pro, or other GIS software, change the Category to “Software” and the Subcategory to “GIS Support.”
Frequently Asked Questions
- Graduating students lose access one year from graduation
- Other students, including those in credential and certificate programs, lose access 90 days after the final day of the last enrolled semester
- Staff and staff volunteers lose access immediately upon separation
- Faculty and Lecturer lose access 365 days after separation
- Volunteer faculty (adjuncts) lose access 275 days after separation
- Emeritus faculty may choose to retain their SDSUid and should contact HR at (619) 594-6404 for more information
You can obtain your own ArcGIS for Personal Use organization for professional development purposes, and it includes licensing for Pro and Desktop, as well as other ArcGIS components.
Most ArcGIS Online content can be transferred using ArcGIS Online Assistant, however, one notable exception is ArcGIS StoryMaps. For assistance with content that cannot be transferred via ArcGIS Online Assistant, please submit a ServiceNow request. See links above.
While we cannot guarantee your content will kept at all after you leave the University, our plan is to only delete content when:
- Content owner has not logged in during the last 2-years and no one has viewed the content in the last 3-years
- Content owner has not logged in during the last 3-years and no one has viewed the content in the last 2-years
- Content owner has not logged in during the last 4-years and no one has viewed the content in the last 1-year
- Content owner has not logged in during the last 5-years